Conferences & Locations

Bonn Region

Path of Democracy

The Path of democracy consists of various signposted panels at appropriate locations in the former Government Quarter in Bonn.

The tour begins at the Haus der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. The shorter route includes twelve panels and can be completed in 90 minutes on foot.
Other panels such as the Hofgartenwiese, the site of large-scale demonstrations or the former headquarters of the major parties, are outside the shorter route.
There are a further 40 sites of historical and political significance within and outside the Government Quarter, which are marked with small panels of text.

1. Bundeshaus (Federal parliament)
2. UN-Campus
3. Former plenary chamber
4. Waterworks
5. Langer Eugen
6. Tulpenfeld office buildings/ Federal press conference
7. Dahlmannstrasse
8. Chancellor´s office / Chancellor´s bungalow
9. Palais Schaumburg
10. Villa Hammerschmidt
11. Museum Koenig
12. Petersberg Federal guesthouse
13. Office for Foreign Affairs
14. Bundesrechnungshof (Federal audit office)
15. Hofgarten
16. Old town hall
17. Erich-Ollenhauer-Haus
18. Konrad-Adenauer-Haus
19. Federal ministry for Economic Affairs
Adenauerhaus Palais Schaumburg, Foto:Presseamt der Bundesstadt Bonn Foto: Presseamt der Bundesstadt Bonn
Plenarsaal leer Altes Rathaus W Gesprch STADT UN-Campus - Presseamt der Bundesstadt Bonn Aussenansicht Kanzler Bungalow Foto: Presseamt der Bundesstadt Bonn
Zoologische Forschungsmuseum Alexander Koenig